DLW name changed, will now be known as BLW
DLW name changed, will now be known as BLW

DLW name changed, will now be known as BLW

After Manduwadih railway station in Varanasi, now the DLW (Diesel Locomotive Works) will also be renamed. The Central Government has issued an order letter to change the name of DLW to BLW (Banaras Locomotive Works). Recently in the month of September, Manduwadih railway station was renamed as Banaras station.

After the production of diesel engines was reduced, the practice of changing the name was going on for almost a year. The proposal for three names was sent a year ago. It had Deendayal Locomotive Works, Banaras Locomotive Works and Kashi Locomotive Works.

The name of the Diesel Locomotive Works (DLW) in Varanasi, which supplies diesel rail locomotives to several countries as well as Indian Railways, has been changed. Now it will be known as Banaras Locomotive Works (BLW). For this, Secretary Sushant Kumar Mishra has officially issued a letter on behalf of the Ministry of Railways.

Diesel rail engines have been produced here since inception. Diesel rail engine production has been reduced for the past three seasons. The production of diesel engines for Indian Railways came to a complete halt from the session 2019-20. Like CLW here too, the practice of removing the word diesel from the factory was going on only after the production of electric rail engines started. A letter was also sent to the Railway Board. On 28 October, the Center renamed it as the Banaras Rail Engine Factory.

Diesel engines made for the country for 58 years

The DLW, which has been on the tongue of people from all over Purvanchal including the Kashivasis for decades, will now be converted into ‘BLW’. The DLW (Diesel Locomotive Works) has now been renamed as the BLW (Banaras Locomotive Works). Although adding a new achievement every year since the year 1961, this factory has produced diesel rail engines for the country for 58 years, now over time has adapted itself and started production of electric rail engines.

The factory has completed many milestones since its inception and has proved itself at the national level each time with a new achievement. Considering the work efficiency and production capacity of the employees here, a total of 11 neighbouring countries have also been exported through RDSO and Railway Board and have been producing diesel engines for major private companies of the country.

Dr Rajendra Prasad had laid the foundation stone

In order to give the speed of work and development to the workers of Purvanchal along with Indian Railways, the first President Dr Rajendra Prasad laid the foundation stone of DLW here. The DLW (Diesel Locomotive Works) was established with the farmers taking land here and giving them compensation and jobs.

Production stopped for Indian Railways from last season

DLW, which has received first prize in terms of production, started making changes in the year 2016-17. It was only in this session that electric rail locomotives were started. Subsequently, the season 2018-19 was the last season in which DLW produced diesel rail locomotives for the Indian Railways.

(BHU-Express is now on Telegram. Join our Telegram channel by clicking here to stay updated with all the BHU news, admission updates & college events for free!)

About Admin

Editorial Panel of BHU-Express. We are a group of enthusiastic writers dedicated to deliver quality content.

Check Also

Samagra Shiksha Abhiyan

Samagra Shiksha Abhiyan: All You Need To Know About

Samagra Shiksha Abhiyan is a programme to improve the quality of the school education sector …

Leave a Reply